SQL SERVER – What is Denali?

I see following question quite common on Twitter or in my email box.

“What is Denali?”

Denali is code name of SQL Server 2011.

Here is the list of the code name of other versions of SQL Server.

In 1988, Microsoft released its first version of SQL Server. It was developed jointly by Microsoft and Sybase for the OS/2 platform.

  • 1993 – SQL Server 4.21 for Windows NT
  • 1995 – SQL Server 6.0, codenamed SQL95
  • 1996 – SQL Server 6.5, codenamed Hydra
  • 1999 – SQL Server 7.0, codenamed Sphinx
  • 1999 – SQL Server 7.0 OLAP, codenamed Plato
  • 2000 – SQL Server 2000 32-bit, codenamed Shiloh (version 8.0)
  • 2003 – SQL Server 2000 64-bit, codenamed Liberty
  • 2005 – SQL Server 2005, codenamed Yukon (version 9.0)
  • 2008 – SQL Server 2008, codenamed Katmai (version 10.0)
  • 2010 – SQL Server 2008 R2, Codenamed Kilimanjaro (aka KJ)
  • Next – SQL Server 2011, Codenamed Denali

Any guesses what should be the next version after 2011 should be codenamed?

Reference: Pinal Dave (http://blog.SQLAuthority.com)

25 thoughts on “SQL SERVER – What is Denali?

  1. Microsoft has updated its “Microsoft SQL Server CLR Types Serialization Formats [MS-SSCLRT]” document to include changes coming in SQL Server code-named Denali Community Technology Preview 1 (CTP1). The changes, called “Version 2”, give a glimpse of some of the issues Microsoft is trying to address with Denali.

    Interesting read…


  2. Pingback: SQLAuthority News – A Monthly Round Up of SQLAuthority Blog Posts Journey to SQL Authority with Pinal Dave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s