SQL SERVER – Types of Triggers

A client of Comprehensive Database Performance Health Check asked me questions about types of triggers. Let us learn about it.

Well, there are three main types of triggers.

  1. DDL Trigger – DDL trigger runs when Data Definition Language events occur in the database. DDL events are CREATE, ALTER and DROP statements.
  2. DML Trigger – DML trigger runs when Data Modification Language events occur in the database. DML events are INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE statements.
  3. Logon Trigger – Logon triggers runs when Logon events happen in SQL Server. When you log in to the SQL Server instance, the triggers execute.

Do you use triggers for your business applications? I have stopped using them for many years and it has been fantastically fine. Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Here are my few recent videos and I would like to know what is your feedback about them. Do not forget to subscribe SQL in Sixty Seconds series.

Reference: Pinal Dave (http://blog.SQLAuthority.com)

SQL Scripts, SQL Server, SQL Trigger
Previous Post
SQL SERVER – How to Break Mirroring?
Next Post
SQL SERVER – Threads Not Counted for Max Worker Threads

Related Posts

3 Comments. Leave new

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Exit mobile version